MercyMe Welcome to the NewMercyMe
Welcome to the New
Fair Trade Services
Rating: 5/5 stars
Genre: Pop/Rock

Crossover hit “I Can Only Imagine” introduced the world to an unknown rock band from Texas, and since then, MercyMe has gone on to sell more than 6.5 million records. With its eighth full-length studio effort, Welcome to the New, the beloved band ushers in a fresh season.

The album centers around the newfound perspective of lead singer Bart Millard whose theology was recently challenged with the realization that God could never love us more than He already does in this moment. The result is a record boasting raw energy, renewed passion and some of the most relatable lyrics of the band’s career.

From the swinging opening beats of the title track to the insatiable hook of lead single “Shake,” longtime fans will be pleasantly surprised to find the band experimenting with upbeat tracks that simply make you want to dance.

Americana-flavored cut “Greater” showcases a musical progression that launches the band into Mumford & Sons territory. Centerpiece “Flawless” follows with this gem of a line: “The cross has made you flawless.”

“Wishful Thinking” rides a smooth, creative chorus that channels some of the band’s musical influences. Meanwhile, “Burn Baby Burn” pays tribute to Tom Petty. On “Dear Younger Me,” Millard sings of regret, angst and hope all rolled into a heart-wrenching acoustic closer that’s both lyrically poignant and melodically stylish.

It seems a new perspective worked wonders for the band who’s managed to craft an album that breaks the mold of their critically-acclaimed former offerings.Welcome to the New is musically ambitious, lyrically sound and one of MercyMe’s best records yet.

Download Welcome to the New on iTunes here.

This review was first published in Living Light News.